Marburg & Region

The city of Marburg

A university city with 800 years of history, the winding old town between Lahn and castle, the university atmosphere and the beautiful countryside!

Marburg has an area of 124.5 km² and a population of 73,125.

History, tourism and culture have made Marburg what it is today. In the 13th century the German Order built, in honour of the late Saint Elizabeth (who died here in 1231),  the first Gothic church on German soil. Even today, many people visit Marburg to admire the Church of St. Elizabeth.

Marburg has restored many of its ancient walls to keep the old-world flair. At the same time the city is still changing with many new buildings. Whether you take a walk through the old town or go shopping in the city centre, you will find a piece of history everywhere in Marburg.

 

Culture

Culturally, the city of Marburg has a lot to offer.

In a tour of the whole old town of Marburg, you can learn many important historical aspects that have shaped the city of Marburg. You have the chance to admire the castle not only from the outside, but also inside, and decide whether you want a guided tour or to make your own journey of discovery.

Another cultural highlight is the Church of St. Elizabeth, the first pure Gothic building in Germany. The small and large works of art that can be found in the Church of St. Elizabeth, tell the story of Saint Elizabeth of Thuringen.

But Marburg isn’t just full of beautiful old buildings to be admired, the Museum of Art and Cultural History and the Marburg Art Foundation are worth a visit.

 

Bars & Nightlife

After a day on the go discovering one of the most historic cities Hessen has to offer, you can wind down at night in one of the many bars and pubs. The choice ranges from cocktail bars, old-world pubs and delicious restaurants to Shisha bars - there really is something for everyone.

 

Those who would rather party than wind down at night, can make their way to the old-town of Marburg for example. In the other small clubs around Marburg there are often themed parties taking place, so that it simply never gets boring.

 

Of course you can also spend the evening enjoying a great movie in the Marburg Cineplex cinema to wind down. Many more great bars and restaurants can be found nearby too.

Marburg & Region

Die Stadt Marburg

Universitätsstadt mit der 800-jährigen Historie, der verwinkelten Altstadt zwischen Lahn und Schloss, dem universitären Flair und dem reizvollen Umland!

Marburg hat eine Fläche von 124,5 km² und 73.125 Einwohner.

Geschichte, Tourismus und Kultur haben Marburg zu dem gemacht was es heute ist. Im 13. Jahrhundert  erbaute der Deutsche Orden zu Ehren der 1231 hier verstorbenen Heiligen Elisabeth die erste gotische Hallenkirche auf deutschem Boden. Noch heute kommen viele Menschen nach Marburg um sich die Elisabethkirche anzuschauen.

Marburg hat viele seiner alten Gemäuer restaurieren lassen, um den altmodische Flair beizubehalten. Gleichzeitig ist die Stadt immer im Wandel durch seine Neubauten. Egal ob Ihr ein Spaziergang durch die Altstadt macht oder in der Innenstadt unterwegs zum Shoppen seid, in Marburg findet Ihr überall ein Stück Geschichte.

Kultur

Kulturell hat die Stadt Marburg einiges zu bieten.

In einer Führung durch die ganze Altstadt Marburgs, erfahrt Ihr viele wichtige geschichtliche Aspekte, die die Stadt Marburg geprägt haben. Auch habt Ihr die Möglichkeit das Schloss nicht nur von außen zu bewundern, Ihr könnt euch auch drinnen umschauen und könnt entscheiden, ob Ihr Euch führen lasst oder auf eigene Entdeckungsreise geht.

Ein weiteres kulturelles Highlight ist die Elisabethkirche, das erste rein gotische Bauwerk in Deutschland. Die kleinen und großen Kunstwerke die man in der Elisabethkirche findet, erzählen die Geschichte der Heiligen Elisabeth von Thüringen.

Doch Marburg hat nicht nur wunderschöne alte Gebäude die man bewundern kann, auch das Museum für Kunst und Kulturgeschichte und der Marburger Kunstverein sind einen Besuch wert.

Kneipen & Nachtleben

Nachdem Ihr den Tag unterwegs wart und Euch eine der geschichtsträchtigsten Städte Hessens angeschaut habt, könnt Ihr es Euch abends in einer der zahlreichen Bars oder Kneipen gemütlich machen. Das Spektrum reicht von Cocktailbars über urige Kneipen und leckeren Restaurants bis hin zu Shishabars, sodass wirklich für jeden was dabei ist.

Wer abends, anstatt es sich gemütlich machen, lieber feiern gehen möchte, kann das unteranderem in der Marburger Altstadt tun. In den anderen kleinen Diskotheken in Marburg finden öfter Themenpartys statt, sodass es einfach nie langweilig wird.

Natürlich könnt Ihr den Abend auch bei einem tollen Film im Marburger Cineplex Kino ausklingen lassen. In der näheren Umgebung findet Ihr auch weitere tolle Bars und Restaurants.